CLEVELAND (August 2017) — TRI (The Refractories Institute), comprised of approximately 50 member companies that operate in the refractory industry, awards scholarships annually to college students who are pursuing an education related to refractory science. They are pleased to announce four winners of this year’s scholarships: Michelle Hoffman, Colorado School of Mines; Sunyong Kwon, McGill University; Evan Musterman, Missouri University of Science and Technology; and Elliott Smith, University of Alabama. There were two winners last year.

The academic scholarships are awarded by TRI’s scholarship committee, and are distributed to each student as a one-time grant of $5,000. To be eligible to receive the scholarship, students must be currently in pursuit of a degree (undergraduate or graduate) in materials science, ceramic engineering or similar disciplines. Recipients must be enrolled full-time at a North American college or university. Scholarships are awarded to a limited number of students each year and are based on academic merit and the student’s interest and experience in the field of refractories.

For more information, visit