West Linn, Oregon (December 28, 2018)—Agriculture Secretary Sonny Perdue has appointed six members to serve on the Softwood Lumber Board (SLB). Members will serve a 3-year term of office beginning Jan. 1, 2019. New members include:

  • J.D. Hankins of Ripley, Mississippi, & Brian Luoma of Tuscaloosa, Alabama, who will represent the United States South
  • Todd Payne of Eugene, Oregon, & George Emmerson of Bella Vista, California, who will represent the U.S. West 
  • Kevin Edgson of Montreal, Quebec, who will represent Canada East
  • Brad Thorlakson of Vernon, British Columbia, who will represent Canada West

The SLB is composed of 19 members, including 12 domestic manufacturers and seven importers. Of the 12 domestic manufacturers, six represent the U.S. South, five represent the U.S. West and one represents the U.S. Northeast and Lake States. Of the seven importers, four represent Canada West, two represent Canada East and one represents all other importing countries.

“The Softwood Lumber Board thanks Secretary Perdue for appointing a strong slate of new directors, who reflect the diversity of the industry and will bring the unique perspectives from their regions,” said Cees de Jager, SLB’s chief executive officer. “We also thank the outgoing directors for their leadership, service, and commitment to the industry and Softwood Lumber Board. They were instrumental in guiding the SLB and helping us deliver significant impacts for the industry during our first term.”

For more information, visit softwoodlumberboard.org.